CHSAA Playoffs

Boys Basketball Playoffs

AA Division

First Round

Holy Cross 71, St. Peter’s 70

Second Round

Christ the King 66, Mount St. Michael 59

Molloy 71, Iona Prep 61

St. Raymond 67, Xaverian 59

Holy Cross 72, Msgr. Scanlan 66


St. Francis Prep 66, Molloy 50

Stepinac 86, St. Raymond 51

Cardinal Hayes 70, Christ the King 47

Bishop Loughlin 77, Holy Cross 61


Stepinac 73, Bishop Loughlin 57

Cardinal Hayes 73, St. Francis Prep 62


Friday, March 11

MY No.2 Cardinal Hayes vs. No. 1 Stepinac, at Hofstra University, 8 p.m.

A Division

First Round

St. Edmund 58, Cardinal Spellman 50

All Hallows 49, Xavier 38

McClancy 58, LaSalle 52


Nazareth 45, McClancy 39

Msgr. Farrell 42, St. Edmund 39

Fordham Prep 73, All Hallows 36

St. Joseph by-the-Sea 83, Salesian 59


Tuesday, March 1

at Molloy

Nazareth 52, Msgr. Farrell 47

Fordham prep 66, St Joseph 55


Fordham Prep 42, Nazareth 38

B Division

First Round

Kennedy Catholic 78, Moore Catholic 61

Cristo Rey Brooklyn 46, Sacred Heart 39

St. John’s Prep 60, Regis 50


St. John’s Prep 66, Cristo Rey Brooklyn 60

Cathedral Prep 63, Kennedy Catholic 60


Cathedral Prep 77, St. John’s Prep 64


CHSAA Girls Basketball


Tier 1


St. Francis Prep 57, St. John’s Prep 34

Msgr. McClancy 39, Xaverian 36


Bishop Loughlin 74, St. Francis Prep 64

Msgr. Scanlan 67, Mary Louis Academy 60

Nazareth 45, Archbishop Molloy 41

Christ the King 68, Msgr. McClancy 32


Msgr. Scanlan 69, Bishop Loughlin 66

Nazareth 61, Christ the King 50


Msgr. Scanlan 47, Nazareth 43

Tier 2


Notre Dame Academy 52, Maria Regina 38

St. Joseph by-the-Sea 80, St. Jean Baptiste 43

St. Joseph Hill 70, Cardinal Spellman 35

Moore Catholic 62, Kennedy Catholic 56


St. Joseph by-the-Sea 77, Moore Catholic 45

St. Joseph Hill 71, Notre Dame Academy 50


St. Joseph by-the-Sea 72, St. Joseph HIll 59

Tier 3


Cristo Rey Brooklyn 55, St. Vincent Ferrer 51


Cathedral 61, Notre Dame 56

St. Catharine’s Academy 46, Cristo Rey Brooklyn 28


St. Catherine’s Academy 30, Cathedral 29

Tier 4


Sacred Heart 60, St. Barnabas 25

Dominican Academy 45, Academy of Mount St. Ursula 29

Friday, March 4

Sacred Heart 49, Dominican 31

Williams, Comerford Lead Track Stars

Travis Williams and Giovanna Comerford each won two individual events to lead competitors at the CHSAA NY/BQ Sectional track and field championships on Randall’s Island May 15.

Williams of Cardinal Hayes sprinted to wins in the boys 100-meter dash, 10.75 seconds, and 200, 22.1 seconds. Comerford of Notre Dame Academy took first place in the 800, 2:23.89, and 2000 steeplechase, 7:12.34.

Other Archdiocese Winners


400: Meghan Leonard, Notre Dame Academy, 1:01.7; 3000: Brigid McCabe, Notre Dame, 11:09.06; Triple jump: Olivia Cowan, St. Joseph by-the-Sea, 31-3; Pole vault: Saranda Capani, Notre Dame Academy, 9-0; Discus: Alexa Boller, Msgr. McClancy, 90-9.


400: Javier Jackson, Cardinal Hayes, 49.87; 800: Antonio Bravo, Iona Prep, 2:00.02; 1600: Luke Ellwood, Regis, 4:19.9; 3200: Eamonn Sullivan, Fordham Prep, 9:41.77; 3000 steeplechase: Tommy Flynn, Iona Prep, 10:42.99; High jump: Matthew Wenz, Msgr. McClancy, 5-10; Pole vault: Michael Croke, Fordham Prep, 14-0; Discus: Robert Menocal, Fordham Prep, 153-1; Javelin: Piotr Draus, Msgr. McClancy, 139-8.

Kennedy Claims Soccer Title

John F. Kennedy Catholic High School captured its second consecutive CHSAA A Intersectional Boys Soccer Championship with a 1-0 victory over Msgr. McClancy at Fordham University on Saturday.

Connor Trainor scored off an assist from Liam Mulholland for the Gaels. Luke Tomaszewsky had the shutout in goal.


Athletes Earn All-State Honors

The New York State Sportswriters Association recognized Catholic high school girls basketball athletes from the archdiocese as all-state honorees on Tuesday.

The honorees are:


Kateri Poole, Msgr. Scanlan, second team; Ava Learn, Our Lady of Lourdes, 6th team; Paulina Paris, Albertus Magnus, 8th team; Alexa Mustafaj, Ursuline, 12th team; Tanasha Mills, Albertus Magnus, 12th team; Kaylen Banwareesingh, Msgr. Scanlan, 13th team


Jada Rogers, Cardinal Spellman, 4th team; Catherine Finnerty, Msgr. McClancy, 6th team; Gianna Samuels, Notre Dame Academy, 10th team; Brittany Stenz, McClancy, 12th team; Lauren DeMartino, St. Joseph Hill, 13th team


Kyra Villegas, Aquinas, 2nd team