CYO Dinner Honors 5

A week ago, CYO held its 81st annual CYO Club of Champions Tribute in Manhattan — honoring New York Giants head coach Ben McAdoo, Brooklyn Nets guard Sean Kilpatrick, two-time NBA All-Star Caron Butler, motivational speaker Eric LeGrand and CEO and Founder of Bruin Sports Capital George Pyne.

Check out the complete story here.

CYO Dinner — A Huge Success

Some 420 guests attended the 81st Annual CYO Club of Champions Tribute at the Mandarin Oriental in Manhattan, an event that raised over $500,000 for the archdiocese’s CYO program on May 2.

Over 26,000 participate in the CYO program with the help of more than 3,000 volunteers.

CYO honored five individuals:

— Brooklyn Nets guard Sean Kilpatrick (CYO Hometown Hero and former CYO player for Our Lady of Mercy in Port Chester)

— Former Rutgers football player and now motivational speaker Eric LeGrand (Spirit of CYO Award)

— Two-time NBA All-Star and 2011 NBA champion with the Dallas Mavericks Caron Butler (Terence Cardinal Cooke Humanitarian Award)

— Giants head coach Ben McAdoo (John V. Mara Sportsman of the Year Award)

— Founder and CEO of Bruin Sports Capital George Pyne (Gold Medal Award)

Giants co-ower John Mara, Cardinal Dolan and Catholic Charities Executive Director Msgr. Kevin Sullivan were among the speakers, and Chris Russo of the MLB Network and formerly of the Mike and Mad Dog Show emceed.

The Mara family was there as were members of the Giants and Nets.

My complete story, including comments from a press gathering with McAdoo, will be in the May 11 edition of Catholic New York.

Deadline Approaching for CYO Sportsmanship Award Nominees

The archdiocese’s CYO program is accepting parish nomination for its annual CYO Sportsmanship Award.

The award recognizes the work being done by a parish CYO sports program in the community and beyond. Interested individuals can submit a nomination letter highlighting the good work being done on and off the court by the sports program as well as supporting documents including photos, newspaper articles, letters of support and letters of donation. Read more here.

Email this information to Anthony Badger, manager of country programs, at Deadline is May 5 and the winner is being announced on May 19.

Previous winners were The Church of the Epiphany/The Epiphany School, Manhattan, 2015-2016; St. Martin de Porres, Poughkeepsie, 2014-2015; Sts. John and Paul Parish, Larchmont, 2013-2014; St. Patrick Parish, Armonk, 2012-2013 and St. Francis of Assisi, Newburgh, 2012-2013.